Musical Seoul: Drama Update

Dafne Naranjo, Staff Writer

BigHit Entertainment 

Recently BigHit and Source Music Entertainment have joined forces to become one.

Gfriend (girl-group under Source Music) is now part of the BigHit family. A month ago they released their song ‘Fever’ with an M/V going along with it. 

Their fans (BUDDY) are now waiting to see how BigHit is going to promote them. 

TXT (Tomorrow X Together) 

On August 21, 2019, TXT announced their fandom name on WEVERSE and Twitter. They (TXT) had asked fans to send in name ideas that they would like and chose the name “MOA” or “Moments Of Alwaysness” and the acronym means “gather, collect.” The fans chose the name because it has a similar meaning to the name TXT.

New Boy Group

A new boy group debuted on August 27, 2019. They are the top eleven contestants of Produce X 101. They are under Swing Entertainment. Their band name is X1 and their fandom name is One-It.

Their contract with Swing Entertainment is meant to last 5 years. The first half of the contract will be them focusing on the group, while the second half will be focused on work in their own companies such as debuting as a soloist or in a new group. They may also return to work in their former groups. 

Drama in YG Paradise

Many groups under YG Entertainment are planning to leave the agency. Rumors about YG stealing money from both the company and the groups under the company have been spreading for a long time now. It is said that YG stole money from BLACKPINK and used it to gamble in Las Vegas. 

Apart from the rumors of YG stealing money, many groups have said that they don’t have the freedom that they expected. They are not allowed to get tattoos, smoke, undergo surgeries, write their own music, or express themselves.  

SM Entertainment Comeback

SM Entertainment has been planning on debuting a new boy group called SuperM. They are meant to debut in October here in the U.S. According to various news outlets, the group will focus most of their promotions in the U.S and South Korea.

The group will consist of seven existing members under SM: SHINee’s Taemin, EXO’s Baekhyun and Kai, and NCT’s Taeyong, Mark, Lucas and Ten.